Tops International ArenaTops International Arena

Local favourites on top in international competitor field

Release date: 17/07/2018

Today the public saw two local favourites take victory. Henk van de Pol won, like he did yesterday, the class for eight-year-olds with the talented Looyman Z and earlier today his brother Bert Jan took first place in the competition for six-year-olds with Ginette (sBs, Non Stop). “She has a great character and she is very careful. She always has good results,” according to Bert Jan. He was also very enthusiastic about Looyman Z, which he rode himself before Henk took over the reins. “Looyman is a very talented horse that should be able to reach the highest level. Henk is now working on that goal. It is a horse that you meet only once in a lifetime.” Looyman is also a sweet horse at home. Groom Nick van der Steen “It is a very easy horse, some things are still a bit scary, but he is getting more experienced. It is a great horse to take care off.”

Runners-up in the six-year-old class was Ireland’s Hary Marshall and Mistral v. ‘t Dauwhof and Holland’s Bas Moerings, who won this class yesterday, finished in third with Hervesther. Italian Nico Lupino took the runner-up spot in the eight-year-olds competition with Dear Boy (by Diarado) and Belgium’s Karel Cox finished in third with Kill Bill Max (BWP, Toulon x Quintus).

Valentijn De Bock from Belgium won the class for seven-year-old horses with the mare Like a Diamond van het Schaeck (Diamant de Semilly x Bamako de Muze). De Bock, whose daughter Audrey is also competing in Valkenswaard, is a very experienced young horse rider. France’s Robinson Maupiler was runner-up with Bayla de la Roque (Palestro II x I Love You) and Karel Cox took another third place with Don Corleone III Z (ZANG, Der Senaat 111 x Ideal de la Loge).
Yesterday they finished runners-up, but today Bas Knijff and Irocco van de Postbaan (KWPN, Montender 2 x Colino) won the competition for five-year-olds. Bas Moerings and Ipsthar (KWPN, Denzel van Meulenhof) finished in second place and Britain’s Emily Sage was third in line at the prizegiving ceremony with A Am A Harley (KWPN, Harley VDL x Tangelo van de Zuuthoeve).
Team competition for veterans
The veterans had their team competition on Tuesday, one for the Small Tour riders and one for the Large Tour. Team ‘Europa’ consisting of Sylvie Ruissen (NED), Andy Viliiger (SUI), Yvette Bogaert (NED) and Carol Gee (IRL)  won the Small Tour competition. The Large Tour class was won by the team of Great Britain with Catherine Fowdrey, Anne Berry, Keith Stockdale and James Loffet.